If you are a truck driver who wants to know how many hours you can drive in Texas, you have come to the right place. In this blog post, we will give you a comprehensive guide to Hours of Service (HOS) regulations in the Lone Star State. We will also provide some tips on how to stay safe while driving long distances. So, whether you are a new driver or an experienced professional, read on for all the information you need!
Hours of Service Regulations in Texas
Texas has very strict Hours of Service (HOS) regulations for commercial drivers. These regulations are based on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA) HOS rules. Below is a summary of the main provisions:
- Drivers cannot drive more than 11 hours per day.
- Drivers cannot drive more than 14 hours total per day (including driving and non-driving time) unless they are in a sleeper berth. In that case, the maximum is 17 hours total per day.
- After eight consecutive hours off duty, drivers must take at least 34 consecutive hours of rest before resuming work again as a driver.
- Drivers cannot drive for more than 60 hours in seven consecutive days or 70 hours in eight consecutive days.
- Truck drivers must keep records of their work and rest periods using logbooks, an electronic logging device (ELD), or other means approved by the FMCSA.
- Texas also has additional rules that apply to driving in certain conditions and situations. For example, drivers who are transporting hazardous materials cannot drive more than nine hours per day or 60 hours in seven consecutive days. They also cannot exceed 12 hours total work time (including driving and non-driving) each day.
Truck drivers must follow these regulations at all times, even if they are driving in another state. Penalties for violating HOS regulations can be severe, including fines, driver disqualification, and even imprisonment.